My Pinterest Adventures… Thus Far.

by kelliannepace

I am one of those people who will spend a few hours in front of the computer just pinning away. It’s sad. It all started on my husband’s first deployment very soon after we got to Georgia. At the time, it was just my dog Lucy and I, so I was doing anything to make the time go by. That is when I discovered Pinterest.

The very first Pinterest project that I tried was the “Make Your Own Dishes”. Basically, all you have to do is buy plain white dishes from the dollar tree, get a permanent marker, decorate the dishes as you please, and bake in the oven to make it last forever! Sounds simple and fool proof, right? Sounds like a really cute way to have unique dishes and impress guests, right? Well, that’s where you’d be wrong.

I bought 8 large plates, 8 appetizer plates, and 8 mugs. I decided I would decorate each item with the lyrics to different songs that my husband and I liked. Ugh… that was my first mistake. IT TOOK FOREVER!! Then, I baked! I believe it was 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Well, I finished my project and I was quite proud! I could hardly wait for someone to see my crafty expertise and my new amazing dishes! Well, my cousin took a special liking to one of my mugs, had herself a cup of tea, and then the mug was put in the dishwasher. First off, these dishes were suppose to now be permanent and dishwasher safe. pffffft. The writing came right off. Total waste of 30 something dollars, 2 days of careful penmanship, and almost 3 hours total of baking. BIG WASTE!!!

My second adventure was a recipe. It was called “Baked Banana Chips”. All you had to do was cut a few bananas into thin sliced chips, dip the slices in lemon juice, place them on a baking sheet and bake at 200 degrees for 2 hours on each side. Easy, right. Well, yeah. It was easy, but the taste was awful! If I were to do it again, and I am sure I will, because my husband liked them, I would cut the bananas lengthwise.

The last adventure I tried was a banana s’mores. Really, all you do is unpeel a banana, scoop out a little bit lengthwise, and fill the banana with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips. Then, wrap in foil and bake in oven for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees. This was amazing!!! I will definitely be doing this again!

I plan on conquering some more Pinterest crafts and recipes and I will be sure to keep y’all updated on those!

Toodles!Image

